Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Chicken

Today I met my Belgian friend Katleen for the first time in what she tells me is 8years! We met in 1988 in Louvain at the Fisec Games (Catholic Schools European Championships). I was 14 and she was 16 and we both ran in the 1500m. Afterwards she asked if she could write to me as she wanted to improve her English. I am only in contact with two other people I met that week in Belgium and they were both on my team.

So here we are 24years later and still in contact. It just shows what a wonderful sport athletics is. When she arrived William was having a strop which wasn't the best timing but he got himself out of it and gradually warmed to her. By the time she left she was treated to a proper William hug and kiss. The lovely thing was it wasn't awkward in anyway. Katleen's English has always been great and you wouldn't have known that she doesn't use it regularly today. We talked about allsorts. The chicken, by the way, was her present to me. Apparently many of the French Belgians have them in their kitchens. Katleen doesn't, she is Flemish and only lives in the French speaking part of Belgium.

Her lucky family have tickets for a session of the athletics at the Olympics in the summer and so are making their summer holiday in England this summer. I am hoping to be able to catch up with them all then.



Katleen if you are reading this Carys LOVED the ring. She wore it the whole time she was doing her homework until she was told to take it off for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.