Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

At Peace

My name is Gemmo Casabar. To me Ernestina Medrano was my grandmother. She was my lola. I will always have fond memories of her. She played a big role in my childhood. One of the earliest memories I have with her was when I was four years old. She would take my brother to school when he was in kindergarten and I would tag along. I remember one time we went to the school cafeteria and they were preparing the day's lunch. I had told her I wanted some of the tater tots they were preparing. She asked and they told her I couldn't have any because I didn't go to school yet. My lola was always there when I needed something. When I was a little older, my brother and I would go to her house after school and she would babysit us. Whenever I was hungry she would prepare something for me and when I shouted her she would help me. I will never forget how she took care of me. She always reminded me and my brother to be good boys. Every time I would leave her house she would always say to me "be a good boy." To say that this little phrase had little effect on me would be an understatement. This little phrase would shape me in ways that I wouldn't think. This little phrase shaped me to be kind to others, to be close to God, and to be good in all senses of the word. Lola was the only grandparent I have ever known and I'm so glad that she was a part of my life. Even though she is no longer with us, I know she is in a better place and I will always remember and cherish the times that I spent with her. I will truly miss her.


My grandmother passed away January 4, 2011. It was a Wednesday at 10:00pm PST. I read this remembrance of her at her reception today. Remembering, writing, and reading these memories about her just brings me to tears.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.