Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Year of the Dragon

Which has nothing to do with this since it's a Mongolian bowl bag designed to carry all that a Mongolian horseman needs to eat on the hoof. But the blip emerged from an attempt to photograph something Chinese to mark the year of the dragon which begins today. Unfortunately there isn't a dragon on the bag either. It's a bird. I'm sure the motif will be full of symbolism but, alas, I don't know what it is.

I first photographed this a few weeks back on the day I decided to blip my coloured pencils instead so it was always a blip-in-waiting. I have one or two Chinese things - a couple of pieces of furniture and a merchant's pillow made from wood and leather - they were hard those old Chinese merchants. But I kept being drawn to the silk bag so here it is in honour of Genghis Khan who did conquer China after all.

I'm all for themed blips but I do confess to wondering how the hell I can make the king of brown food, haggis, look interesting on Burns Night, Wednesday. Searched Haggis for inspiration. Yes I do my homework.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.