Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Blue Morpho

Today's raid on the glasshouse at Wisley was timed meticulously to avoid the garden rage we experienced on Saturday. I forgot that the light would be fading in the late afternoon; still there was space to move around today unlike the weekend crush.

I heard one of the staff saying they bring about 600 pupae over from Belize. I'd like to tell you about some of the different varieties but the booklet was 50p and I didn't have any change and on the way out in the shop they didn't have any booklets.

But after scouring the internet I can tell you that this is the underside of a Blue Morpho. In the morning they'd had a lesson on photographing butterflies but at £50 (£60 for non-members) for the session I thought it a bit steep and besides I was writing all morning, and besides that I didn't know about it. I could have done with a lesson because they're really tricky little blighters. Even those composite shots that are not yet in my armoury would be difficult since butterflies have that annoying habit of moving.

Any blipper who's keen to learn more about about butterfly photography, who's feeling flush and who is within striking distance of RHS Wisley in Surrey, might like to know that there is another photography class on February 8 with Adrian Davies. I'm sure he's worth every penny. I wonder if he blips?

This film is a bit deceiving as it can get much busier than this (but not today). If you do go, avoid weekends and the February half term.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.