Decided to go along to the first of a set of lectures at Stills this evening. Rather shy as I was there by myself, but it was rather interesting - about the concept of beauty in phographs - or the lack thereof.

I'm still definitely at the stage of 'ooooh, pretty picture' but the point that stuck out for me is that looking at elements of a photograph can bring up a whole list of associations (the example used was a ketchup bottle which could bring up associations of food, the memories of eating food with ketchup, brands of ketchup, what you were doing when you last saw a bottle of ketchup etc) - it gives you a point that you can relate to; that's what keeps a person interested in a photograph. This is what I took from the lecture, hopefully not missing the point!

It's got me thinking a bit more - I probably won't be able to put this into practise for a while yet, but it's got my brain moving and that's what I was hoping for. I'm looking forward to next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.