It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Prisoner of Words Unsaid

I travelled to Middlesbrough to do a guest lecture today.

I picked up a copy of the British Journal of Photography for the journey. It was full of superb shots and really interesting text. Expensive for a magazine but well worth it. The Joel Sternfield profile was superb; a famous American photographer....who I'd never heard of. One quote resonated with me:

"it's up to artists to expose the problems, the responsibility of fixing them lies with politicians."

Yeah.....images do not always tell the truth but it is harder to deny the stories they can tell.

The lecture went quite well, hopefully. I tried to make it a bit different, using images, video and a coffee making demonstration to try and get the message across. Comedians who get a hard time from a Glaswegian audience should try entertaining a bunch of students in Middlesbrough! Still, if even got 2% thinking a bit more, then it would be a worthwhile day.

I had a bit of time to kill before my train home so took a few pics. The light was really good and I got some good ones today. Converting images to black n white can sometimes make an ordinary image, quite good and I liked this one best.

This chap was maintaining the fountain near the central library and he looked miserable. What was he thinking about? A prisoner of words unsaid?

Other images here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.