Hello...

By Blackbored

Brrrrr.

Told you it was cold!

I've been checking out the street photography group on here and I'm really liking the candid shots of people as they go about their business, and I've been inspired. Trouble is, I dont find it very easy to do. I'm very aware that there is un-written rule out here that you can't shoot the locals without their consent. Which is such a shame as that totally holds me back. The ladies in their abayas look amazing: fully made up, dripping in jewels, with handbags & shoes to die for. But completely unaproachable to ask for said permission. Perhaps I'm being unduly sceptical, who knows. But that's the point of being on a website like this - to challenge (without landing your backside in jail) and push yourself out of that comfort zone. This was my best only attempt today, and I found it all rather funny as although it's cold & windy, there were sunbathers not 10 feet away from these guys.

The irony of this pic is that it's quite common (especially on this particular beach) for Indian men to try and take pictures of western women while sunbathing. The police patrol the beaches because of this, but I've found that snapping them 'in action' also works wonders; they don't hang around long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.