Hello...

By Blackbored

Nae haggis?!

Then let us pray that come it may,
(As come it will for a' that,)
That Sense and Worth, o'er a' the earth,
Shall bear the gree, an' a' that.
For a' that, an' a' that,
It's coming yet for a' that,
That Man to Man, the world o'er,
Shall brothers be for a' that.

Robert Burns

The sun came back out to play today, so with that, I decided to bite the bullet and go play at being a street photographer. After a bit of research yesterday for tips, I headed off to the popular tourist spot of the Dubai fountains, which can be found sandwiched between the world's tallest building and the world's largest shopping Mall. There, every second person has a camera in hand, so the aim was to blend in.

I have to say it's quite nerve wracking considering the trouble you could get in here. But I did manage to get around 15 'okay' images over the course of about an hour. None of them are particularly outstanding, but for a first attempt, they're a not bad start. My camera has a swivel vari-angle LCD monitor, which enabled me to sit the camera on my lap and shoot in live mode, composing the scene in the monitor. The braver I got, the more I found myself shooting as normal through the viewfinder.

My favourite image is this one of two Indian workers loosening their ties as they escape their office for lunch. And weirdly, this was the first image of the day.

I had hoped to blip a gorgeous haggis neeps and tatties with a whiskey and mustard sauce, to mark Burns night, however I could not get my hands on a haggis for love nor money in Dubai. Irish grass-fed beef instead. Happy Burns night, aw'bdy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.