Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Our Beautiful Gabby Giffords Steps Down

No one expected this.  No one.   I even attended a fundraiser event for her in December.

It was only two weeks ago that we commemorated the awful day when six people we killed and 13 people were injured, including Congresswoman Giffords, shot through the head by a would-be assassin's bullet on a bright Saturday afternoon.

Ingrained forever in my mind will be where I was and  what I was doing.  I can't get over that day.  I cry when I think of it.  It haunts me.

I rarely receive incoming calls on my cell phone and when I do, I generally miss them.  The night before the 2010 election I missed a call from Gabby.  She left a long message.  It's been on my phone ever since.  I listen to it every now and then and hear her cheery, bubbly voice and wonder if I will ever hear it like that again.

There is hope.  

She released her message giving us her resignation news.  Watch it if you can.

Same smile.  Same personality.

This election stuff is crazy.
Primary in April and election in June to fill her seat until next January .
Then the primary in August the and the election in November for the next term in Congress.

I'm going to miss her.  She's a fighter.  I believe her when she says she'll be back.

This was yesterday's paper.  I picked it up too late to blip it then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.