The last of the first ferries

I realised this morning how unused I am to the effects of a long day in the office, even when I two people didn't turn up. I felt a bit lethargic on my run, and was glad that Wednesdays are for admin, and that the tentative Court hearing was deferred for two months.

When I got down to the waterfront the sun was in full spate of rising above the horizon. In all views it was at least partly blocked by buildings. So I opted for this shot of the Ferry Building. On 19 November I photographed it from a different angle; from the street side. This is taken from Prince's Wharf . Just below the Ferry Building is a ferry, and all the other berths are empty. In the right foreground of the picture can be seen one of the ferries used more for cruises to the islands than for commuter services.

I deliberately exposed this picture for the sky, and have then decreased the shadows of the Ferry Building, wharf and ferry. That then necessitated a bit of adjustment to exposure, and tweaking to get the right balance between seeing the foreground and keeping the sky as it was rather than as an explosion of white gold.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.