Move over darling

While I was washing my windows in my study this morning, which of course was serious bout of procrastination to avoid my deadlines, I saw two buzzards flying low behind the sycamore trees at the bottom of the garden. I often comment that I am trying a quest to get a decent picture of them in flight, all so far to no avail. This morning was going to be another pas, as I had no charged battery loaded and still had my 50mm which isn't ideal for bird shots.

Hours later, when the camera was ready to use, I wandered out to the cabin to digest my lunch, and sit in comfort looking through the window. I didn't bother with a tripod so I could be more responsive to whichever birds turned up. Yet again it was very grey and dull so I thought it might just be good practice to see what I could shoot.

I love bullfinches with their proud red breast usually prominently displayed from the top branches of a tree. they didn't disappoint and in fact sat about near the feeder for quite awhile. But in the end I liked this little bluetit coming in to land with no fear of the the black capped bird which had been hogging the feeding perch for minutes on end. I am going to try out some flash soon following the tutorial that Max Ellis posted recently. First, I will have to borrow some flash units that i can trigger remotely. This may take a while.

As soon as I decided to go in two buzzards appeared again flying very low, but they were always silhouettes which just don't look ver good without the detail and colour of their feathers. they circled for a couple of minutes quite close by, then started to circle and climb as well mewing so idiosyncratically. I wasn't surprised to notice that a third buzzard was awaiting them a few hundred feet up either attracted by their calls or having called to them. One day ....

PS Late news ...
One of the two local weekly newspapers has just dropped through the door. I was surprised to find a mugshot of me accompanying the article about our town council decision on Monday night to 'throw a lifeline to Stroud FM, the local community radio station'. They also quoted me, so I must remember in future that when talking at council this might happen. I just wish they had a better photo of me, rather than blowing up another old one to get a picture of my face. Perhaps I could give them an SP which I am happy with. Perhaps Challenge might produce one for me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.