Got the mobile blues today

In my 'sorting out' this morning I came across a variety of large scale local maps, some of which are based on pre-war OS maps, which are interesting as they have little evidence of modern development. I also found a booklet listing Gloucestershire's ancient monuments of which there are many near to us. As I was reading I noticed a reference for Rodmarton Windmill Tump , a neolithic long barrow, which I hadn't known about before. As the sun was shining I pondered whether a quick five miles drive to walk about and blip it might be possible before the next wave of dark clouds came scurrying up the Severn Estuary to dump another shower on us. I reluctantly realised that I should wait for another day when I could afford longer for a good ramble, mostly because I was seriously procrastinating yet again.

Instead I poked the camera across the fields from my study window to see if the man walking his dog in front of the backlit smoke from a bonfire would look good. But it didn't, at least the way I filmed it.

So I went next door to our bedroom and saw the interesting shapes of our folded paper mobile, which hangs down in the just about darkest part of the room. I've been meaning to try some artificial lighting on this mobile, but I've decided to leave that for another time and use this quick shot, and feel good about blipping before I've eaten my lunch. The mobile was made by a local Japanese artist about eight years ago, but I realise it is looking in need of some tlc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.