LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

1000 Days

I am staying over in Glasgow this evening, going for an informal Burns Supper at Arisaig in the Merchant City. This evening is of course Burns Night, the Birthday of the Bard, Rabbie Burns. I was on facebook today posting a video of Ye Banks and Braes - which was my 'turn' at Primary School when there was the annual Burns competition of song and poetry. I won a few times and can only conclude that our school wasnt blessed with singing talent.

Today is also the day that the SNP led Scottish Government announced its consultation on an independence referendum. The debate and discussion has been all over the media this afternoon following the First Minister's statement to Parliament. If Alex Salmond get his way, in 2014, the Scottish electorate will be asked 'Do You Agree That Scotland Should Be An Independent Country'?

The headline across one of the newspapers this morning declared '1000 Days To Save The Union'. I would view it slightly differently. I would say that regardless of your party politics or political perspective, we have 1000 days to shape our future. Whether its within or outwith the United Kingdom, time will tell. Let's use it wisely.

PS - this shot was tricky. Not only was it blowing a gale when I got here, wrapping the flags round the poles at different times, there were other flags and trees in the way and try as I might, even standing on a traffic island with cars whizzing past, I couldnt get a clear shot of both flags!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.