Turning Point

By MamaFi

Here's tae Rabbie!

Some hae meat and canna eat,
And some would eat that want it;
But we hae meat, and we can eat,
Sae let the Lord be thankit.

It was pointed out that I don't make enough effort on special occasions. I have taken this to heart and from now on shall see it as a challenge. This is Burns Night and sadly only Hamish, my youngest child and I are here to celebrate. The rest of the gang are scattered around the globe. One in Cape Town, one in Stockholm, another in London and two in Melbourne. I wonder if they're joining us in having a wee dram the nicht.

Hamish has been doing a bit of research into our family history. He downloaded an app onto the iPad which has made things very easy - it practically finds your rellies for you. I was inspired to learn more about Pipe Major William MacLean, my great, great uncle. He belonged to the Raasay family of MacLeans who had been pipers for generations and was renowned for his piping and composition. He wrote the 'Bessie McIntyre Reel' for my grandmother Elizabeth Orr McIntyre. I discovered that there are many recordings of him playing his pipes, tutoring and being interviewed.

My eldest son Russell, seems to have inherited some of this talent. He felt compelled to pipe as a youngster and has become a fine piper, although he rarely has time to practise nowadays.

The hill walking kilt in the photograph belongs belonged to Russell and is made from McLaren ancient tartan. Hamish has recently claimed it by attaching the silver kilt pin which he received from his grand parents at Christmas time.

Fizz was quite right to suggest that we make more of celebrating, but it's so rare for us all to be together. Hamish and I could certainly have done with Willie or Russ this evening!

I'm off to bed with my dram. Happy Burns' Night everyone!














Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.