Life on the Good Intent

By ClydeBorn

To a Mouse

Been a funny old day! Work busy and lots of changes going on.
Driving back home late listening to Micheal Marra singing Green Grow the Rushes O followed by Hue and Cry singing his Mother Glasgow on Get it On with Bryan Burnett having a Burns supper made me a bit teary, but it ended up with sobs - I do miss my home town.
Its perhaps the fact that I'm missing Celtic Connections or that I've not driven to Stranraer through Burns country to Northern Ireland for a while but emotions were a bit raw!
so to cheer myself up I decided to stage a Burns Day blip - as usual though the cats are better at composition than I am so Kit took charge and its a better result for his intervention!

So to quote the great man

"But Mousie, thou art no thy lane,
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes o' mice an' men
Gang aft agley,
An' lea'e us nought but grief an' pain,
For promis'd joy!

Still thou are blest, compared wi' me!
The present only toucheth thee:
But och! I backward cast my e'e,
On prospects drear!
An' forward, tho' I canna see,
I guess an' fear!"

it wouldn't be a Scottish celebration without a few tears - Happy Burns' Day Blipland!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.