The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Half-Cocked or Spatchcocked?

Nothing represents the perfect comfort food more than a simple roast chicken. In this case, it is one that has been "spatchcocked", or flattened, and prepared in an extremely hot oven with Indian spices and homemade Channa Masala.

Yes, I know I am of Armenian/Russian heritage, but the exotic spices of India intoxicate my senses, fill my home with the warmth of cumin, coriander, ginger, tumeric, garam masala, and garlic, and make me content. Who cares that Indian food has so many ingredients? It tastes fabulous!

My family has a litany of cooks, both men and women, whose passion for the kitchen flows through their veins with burning desire. Siblings, cousins, aunts and uncles, all vy for a place in the family cookery annals.

I cannot help but tease their taste buds with this culinary delight. It's all part of the legacy of my parents, John and Mary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.