I blame my polarised prescription sunglasses and poor photographic technique - I can't recreate the most beautiful beach I have ever seen in my life, I can only try. Imagine driving up to see a ship wreck, walking up the steps on the sand dune and seeing this loooong, beautiful, sandy, EMPTY beach. For a moment I thought that something must be wrong with it. Why aren't there crowds of people enjoying the beauty? Then some logic pop into my brain - it is after the main holiday season, close to school year starting again, there are quite a few million dollar houses (shacks) along the road and it is miles away from civilisation. And only about 1 kilometer from Innes National Park, which we couldn't enter with the dog. After driving for 2 hours. I got out in the carpark of that park and saw an emu!!!!!! Well, I understand why they wouldn't want mad dogs running around barking at these huge birds. I bet there were some Skippies around too.

Speaking of Skippies, I saw the biggest ever roadkill - a huge male kangaroo. Mr H even offered to stop for a photo, but it didn't feel right. It was big, fresh, ling quietly n the side of the road. The beginning of the tail was (my rough estimate) 30-40cm wide. Huuuuuge animal. I can't imagine the damage it did to the car. It is quite dangerous driving at night in these areas, when they skip around and cross road. The sign I find amusing are for real.

So. We had a great day driving up and down the Yorke Peninsula. We stopped at quite a few places, checked out beaches on both sides, let Tilly run amok. What a happy dog she was. She even managed to strain her leg out of this off leash happiness. I now have a mental list of places I want to spend my holidays at. And the beach pictured above is the top of the list. Should I disclose the name? Fine, it is just past Marion Bay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.