Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

A potential photo subject?

The title is deliberately rather ... recursive?

Difficult weather again today. This was shot in the garden - my only camellia is usually not a success due to frosts, and this year, having produced buds so early, I think it will suffer particularly badly, so probably no future shots of it, despite the caption!

Sony A55, 16-80mm Zeiss.

Incidentally, the bud looks as though it is out of focus, and/or not enough DOF, but if I zoom in on the full-sized image the detail in the bud is quite/very sharp, despite ISO 400 (though at that ISO there is some really unpleasant noise), and no blown-out highlights. And I did use manual focus, with the magnify feature, to ensure I was focussed on the (front of) the bud. I suppose if I was dedicated (and destructive), I would have cut down most of the bush and moved it into the "studio" (otherwise known as the largest bedroom, or office) to eliminate the effect of movement in the wind, which would have meant I could have used a lower ISO ... But I like to think I have a life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.