My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

A bit spooky.

It looks like just a tube of sweets, but .....

This time last week I was getting a piece of work ready to read out on the last night of an Arvon writing course .

In this piece I had described a deceased relation of mine, (from another's point of view), as a rapacious old eagle of an uncle, and further down the page .... in his armchair, chomping Fruit Pastilles and filling his emphysemic lungs with pipe smoke....

I think he got through about a box a day.

I got home after the wonderful five days of writing, thinking and talking, and was settling back into everyday life when there was a knock at the door.
Standing on the step was an old employee of my relation's, whom I had not seen for years, clutching a tube of the favoured Fruit Pastilles.

I must have looked a bit shocked.
For once, not because I had been caught out with grotty warm clothes on, and no make up.. but because of the sweets.

My mind was really a bit challenged by the sight of a man clutching this particular brand of sweets, thrusting them towards me, and saying: Pastilles!

He had no idea of the significance. He must have thought I was overwhelmed by his generosity.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.