Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Hands free

I stopped by the Lightbox in Woking today. This museum/gallery, which looks like a giant shoe box, cost some £7m to build. Quite why I'm not sure but the lion's share of this came form the Heritage Lottery Fund - easy come, easy go at the time, but not any more.

Never mind, the good thing is that there is plenty of decent contemporary art to put in it due to the willingness of Chris Ingram, a Woking-boy-made-good, now one of the UK's top art collectors, to exhibit works from his collection here.

The blip is an image of some coloured hands dangling from the ceiling, processed here using the fresco filter on Photoshop to produce something rather more colourful and defined than reality.

Next stop was to call at the local camera shop to buy a 50mm lens. I loved this lens when I used it with my old Pentax Spotmatic. My first Spotmatic was great when I learned SLR photography the first time around. But I took it to a Greek island when I was 20 and lost it in a bush (I think) after a night out on the Retsina. I bought another one second-hand and that broke.

Now I just have the lens but it won't fit the Nikon. I'm looking forward to using the new lens that doesn't distort or do anything fancy, just takes what's in front of you and that's fine with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.