Arachne

By Arachne

Awe

My gardening skills are zero. Outside the back door are some rows of what look like chives (but aren't - the chives came from the market and are in the fridge) that my neighbour gave me in the autumn and I can't remember whether they are onions or spring onions or garlic or allium. At the same time she gave me some dill, which has vanished and something cabbagey (cauliflower? broccoli?) that I never got round to planting out, so I've had to bring the caterpillar-chewed plants indoors to protect them from the frost. (Seems like I've brought the caterpillars in too, since the leaves continue to disappear.)

So I am in awe of trillions of tiny black spheres and slivers of woodiness that somehow become things I can eat. And of the people who can make it happen.

Go gardeners - these are for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.