Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Finished Cage!

YAY! IT'S FINISHED! :-)

Well, today was a LONG day! Up early, Wonderspouse to bus stop, then home to get the cage set up for the boys and to move them out of their temporary home and into something more befitting a mischief of five wonderful men who are loved to bits!

I worked VERY hard for about 3 hours, getting everything I could done. The only casualty of the enterprise was a plastic box that I trod on, and a bag of rat food that split as a result, otherwise, all went smoothly.

So, here it is. The bottom is a modified Ferplast Mary, with the top door removed, and another door added in the front for better access. The top is a modified Ferplast Jenny, with 3 extra doors added in the front for access (e-bay is a wonderful thing) and a hole (see yesterday's blip) cut in the base for access through the removed door place into the Mary via a tube. The boys now have three sputniks, a hanging basket, hammock, hanging cave thing, and various tubes and so on. They are LOVING their new home, and it's fantastic to see them all settled in after my hard work.

I was due at Scharwenka's for lunch, so didn't have time to clear up the bedroom or study, which were absolutely chaotic. I opted to leave the mess and use the last bit of time before leaving home to work on the last movement of the Telemann concerto!

Scharwenka and I went out for a walk near his home, which was very pleasant - great to get some sunlight. We then went to some nearby shops and I got a cheap plastic box to replace the broken one. I also showed him a picture of the cage, and we discussed how, if I were wealthier, I'd have simply bought them a new cage, but making this one has actually given me quite a lot of satisfaction. I CAN do things with my hands, and rather enjoy it - I sometimes think that if I hadn't been sent down the "school - university" academic route, I'd have been quite happy doing a practical sort of job.

Then I collected the Wonderspouse and we went up to Birmingham for what turned out to be a fantastic concert - Tchaikovsky Symphony No.1 and Brahms Piano Concerto No.1. The Tchaikovsky, in particular, was absolutely brilliant - I'd forgotten how wonderful that symphony is.

The Wonderspouse was very anxious, and we nearly didn't go, since we'd left a very poorly cat at home. However, when we got back there were many cuddles, and he got finest ham for supper, which he enjoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.