Life's tangled skein

By atp

Loch Ellrig

These trees were photographed at the edge of Loch Ellrig.

You may not have heard of Loch Ellrig. In spite of having lived in the Falkirk area for seventeen years, I certainly hadn't heard of it, but I found it on Google maps. It's a little way due south of Falkirk, it's an 18 hectare loch, and it seems to be totally hidden from the roads that pass it. It's deep inside a farm and you would never be aware of it unless you were looking for it.

This afternoon, I went looking for it. In normal clothes. I should have been wearing hiking gear! I plunged through muddy puddles, gorse and bracken and heaven knows what I stood on to get to the western end of the loch. And by the time I got there, the light was all-but gone.

Then I turned around and saw the sunset through these trees, and knew immediately that this was going to be today's photo. Luckily, I didn't mess up the shot, so here it is! Loch Ellrig trees.

Not the most exciting of titles!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.