Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

DEFCON 5!!!

As you probably know, the little downy woodpeckers are the most zen-like of birds - not much seems to disturb them. This morning, however, just as the Missus was heading for the suet hanger, all hell broke loose with the finches and the blue jays. I think it is the first time I've seen a downy get rattled. In fact, I am pretty sure I heard her chirping a blue streak as she teetered on the branch, trying to figure out how to get back to the safety of her tree! Another view here.

The hubs and I are heading into NYC tomorrow. A bit of an early birthday celebration for me - the actual "day" is Monday, but who wants to celebrate on a Monday, for crying out loud??? So, thanks to Priceline, we snared a good deal on a room and we are off to eat, drink and be merry. I will most likely blip early tomorrow. Depends on who shows up at the feeders and whether or not we have another Defcon situation on our hands....

Happy Friday, blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.