TucsonJim

By BikerJim

~Fish Hook Barrel Cactus~

~Ferocactus cyclindraceus~


It is also referred to as the Compass Barrel Cactus.
Ever lost in the Sonora Desert look for one of these.
They always grow leaning to the south.
Just like moss grows on the north side of trees.
These cactus can grow to 8' tall and 2' across.
This one is about 3' tall and 1' across.
Why is it also called the Fish Hook Cactus?
Look at those spines, you could catch a fish with one.
The longest spines here are about 3" long.
But they can get up to 5" long.
This photograph was taken directly downward.
This is the growing part of the cactus.
Because of our recent rains, flower buds are starting.
In a week there will be beautiful yellow/red flowers.
Can you guess where I'll be next week?
Yep, probably standing over this cactus.
With my trusty camera stuck to my face.

Hope you all are having a great weekend.
Thanks for stopping by to see what's up.

And thank you for all your very kind comments
on yesterdays image, I really enjoyed shooting it.

Also, please forgive me for not commenting
or responding to your comments lately.
I have been sooooo busy with life.
I will try to remedy the situation, ok?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.