EVERY B****Y TIME...

I walk around Morrison's I think : ''That's it, I've seen it all now.''
New potatoes ... in tins.
Pease pudding ... in a tin.
Packets of custard ... ready for the michaelwave.

AND THEN.......340gm of haggis, neeps & taties, without so much as a comma.

I steadfastly REFUSE to call ''taties'' tatties. Besides, when did you last go into a shop and see, or ask for "A bag of Pottatoes."?
Tatty is defined by many as ...
''1. Worn and shabby; in poor condition: "the room was furnished in slightly tatty upholstered furniture".
2. Of poor quality: "his gap-toothed smile and tatty haircut
''.

For the benefit of the none-metric, that's 11.99 English ounces.
I tried to convert it to U.S. units, but it seems that, along with ignoring the magnificent ''Stone'',  they can't even handle ounces. It told me that 340gm was 0.749564 pounds, which, to me = 3/4lb as near as dammit, which = 12 oz in anybody's money.

We bought a Haggis. It'll be quartered ... 1/4 each as a belated homage to ''The original Celtic Jew'' ... The Rabbi Burns, and 1/4 for each of two tins of broth on the rare occasions we buy one in as a change from the usual D.I.Y.

:¬))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.