27/31 From a distance

This is Jonesy, our cat. He's a bit stiff these days. On account of being made of wood. Carved with a chainsaw, no less! Impressive stuff. He came home with us from Finland and still on occasion manages to give some unsuspecting visitor a fright.

I was really looking forward to today, to not having to get up and out for some point mid-morning. We did well, falling asleep again at about 6ish and waking up well after Steve had gone to work. Ben wasn't happy because he'd not got a cuddle from daddy :( but things improved on finding out daddy had turned the tv on and made coffee as well :D The coffee wasn't for Ben, obviously. Well, not directly anyway. I don't need coffee. Honest. It's Ben that needs me to have coffee.....

But, since I've not had much time this past week in the evenings to actually do any prep for the things Ben and I were hoping to do today (painting, mainly - his choice) I've been trying to get stuff ready on the fly in between nursing Charley and changing nappies. It's actually been quite an exhausting stressful day - none of those happy snuggly pyjama days happening here!

Still, we did actually do some painting. And, if I put clingfilm over the paint tubs we can finish off our paintings tomorrow. Ben is happy with how things are going - I will have to call it our "project" tomorrow when we talk about what to do next. So far we have painted some fish, and a sheet of blue to cut up for waves. I think we may need a longer piece to be honest - they're pretty big fish! Or they can go on the side of his bed, that's blue.

Pizza for tea. Steve came home as Ben was begging for a milky cuddle and it had got to the point where I was knackered and couldn't deal with both of them at once so Charley was handed to Steve while I attempted to give Ben a bit of undivided attention. Didn't work. Charley cried, lots, and Steve decided to learn to fold and change the cloth nappies. He knows now to wait for a slightly less stressful moment to learn something like that, after I was reduced to tears. But the pizza was a good move. And the cookie dough for pudding was good. Steve considered asking me to leave him some as he had to go out again, but then thought it through and decided to eat his half there and then. Wise move. It would've been mysteriously vanished by the time he got home....

Ben earlyish to bed. He likes his new toothbrush so much he happily brushes his teeth twice a day! He's also learning to do it himself, which is great. I go over his teeth a second time just to make sure. He's kinda cute in all this growing up stuff. Insanity inducingly annoying as well, but that is Ben.

He was so giddy to be painting this afternoon that he managed to get paint inside his clothes. Turned out that he actually needed a wee, quite badly, and wasn't just hopping with general giddiness.

"I made it mummy, just in time!"

Yes dear... It'd be GREAT if you could get to the toilet before "just in time" now wouldn't it?!


Bed soon. Swimming is off tomorrow (and I paid as well!!) because of a sudden pool closure - I guess that's the risk you take using a private pool. At least we have paints out and ready!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.