Walker's Daily

By Bremenpics

Silhouette

After almost a year without spotting a cormorant, I met two within a week. Or maybe it's the same bird just sitting on different observation points. They're difficult to blip against the constantly dark and cloudy sky we're enjoying at Bremen.

I'm sure there's going to be frost tonight, and I think that's good. I find the idea of all the insect's we'd be facing after a warm and wet winter somehow scary. And of course it would make the farmers happy, because kale, a favourite winter's dish in North Germany, freezes well and actually tastes sweeter and more flavourful after being exposed to a frost (it's a starch turning into sugar thingy). Traditionally the Grünkohlessen takes place only after it's been freezing for at least one night.

I wish you all a wonderful weekend :-)


More Bremen Cormorants:
Sunday 22 January 2012: Great Cormorant
Wednesday 17 February 2010: Great day for birdwatching

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.