A place in time

By Verbosa

The Lorax

Way back in the days when the grass was still green
and the pond was still wet
and the clouds were still clean,
and the song of the Swomee-Swans rang out in space...
one morning, I came to this glorious place.
And I first saw the trees!
The Truffula Trees!
The bright-colored tufts of the Truffula Trees!
Mile after mile in the fresh morning breeze.


And under the trees, I saw Brown Bar-ba-loots
frisking about in their Bar-ba-loot suits
as the played in the shade and ate Truffula Fruits.


From the rippulous pond
came the comfortable sound
of the Humming-Fish humming
while splashing around.


But those trees! Those trees!
Those Truffula Trees!
All my life I'd been searching
for trees such as these.
The touch of their tufts
was much softer than silk.
And they had the sweet smell
of fresh butterfly milk.


I felt a great leaping
of joy in my heart.
I knew just what I'd do!
I unloaded my cart.


In no time at all, I had built a small shop.

Then I chopped down a Truffula Tree with one chop. And with great skillful skill and with great speedy speed,
I took the soft tuft. And I knitted a Thneed!

(Extract from The Lorax by Dr Seuss)


Was woken to the sound of a chainsaw and shouts of "clear", so pulled on some clothes and tottered round to the next road to snap this chap. He was really high - about the same height again as the two-storey house that was way below him. And I couldn't help but think of The Lorax and those Truffula Trees when I saw him...

Mind you, Mr A (JohnA) beat me to it with a better shot of same thing (in b&w) which he uploaded this morning and he didn't even have to leave the house as he managed to take the shot from an upstairs window with his decent lens! So I told him off for bagging my Blip...although I have to confess his one is actually much better than mine, but I've added part of the tale of the trees from Dr Seuss, so that's OK then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.