Mirrored

By Moonraker

Sunraking

Chapel Porth, with a view to Porthtowan.

The reflection of the sun in the pool of water reminded me of my pseudonym for this site,' Moonraker' and the fact that I don't think I've ever explained why I chose that name.

I was born in Wiltshire and those of us born in the county have the nickname, 'Moonrakers'. Wikipedia can explain:

The term Moonraker is linked to a folk story set in the time when smuggling was a significant industry in rural England, with Wiltshire lying on the smugglers' secret routes between the south coast and customers in the centre of the country. The story goes that some local people had hidden contraband barrels of French Brandy from customs office in a village pond. While trying to retrieve it at night, they were caught by the revenue men, but explained themselves by pointing to the moon's reflection and saying they were trying to rake in a round cheese. The excise men, thinking they were simple yokels, laughed at them and went on their way.

Moonrakers always get the last laugh though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.