Given the Opportunity...

I finished my watch strap a couple of years ago and it has done me well. When I first put it together, I think I was that chuffed with actually pulling it off and managing to assemble it that seeing as it pretty much stayed together, I didn't attempt to change it's raw format.

A couple of weeks ago I caught it on something and some of the elastic snapped rendering it not impossibly but pretty much, unwearable. I thought I'd take this opportunity to finish it the way my brain has been nagging me to do since I last put it together.

To that end, I've sanded each link down to a very fine sandpaper leaving them touchably smooth and have now applied a first coat of varnish. I just need to work out a nice elastic which has to be functional and pretty subtle even though it will hopefully go through the wood and not be seen anyway. Any suggestions on elastic are gratefully accepted.

I'm not sure if the previous entry explains but the links here are each made from a diagonal sliced cuboid of skateboard ply wood from one of my old deceased skateboards. I don't have proper tools for the job, so a lot of painstaking work went into making them as a replacement strap for my wristwatch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.