Screwed...

I have a wee set behaviour with my treatment of screwing in screws which consequently reminds me of a day some 14 odd years ago. I have this thing where if someone explains to me how to do something and it seems fairly sensible, I will reset my treatment of the activity and never really change it unless a better method comes along.

The day 'some 14 odd years ago', was when I was working at the Lochs and Glens hotels at Loch Long Hotel in Arrochar. I was either a porter or general assistant at the time and the owner's wife was going round the hotels in the group refreshing the pictures that were hung in the rooms of the hotel. The responsibility for going round with Mrs Wells to put up the new pictures lay under my remit of general dogsbody. She came armed with a power screwdriver and the pictures and brackety brass thingummys for hanging them.

Whether she actually did, or just wanted to project an air of attention to detail, she did describe to me how she would like the screws screwed in so that when they were screwed flat to the wall, the flat head screws that she brought were all finished with the groove in the head of the screw horizontal.

When ever I'm screwing in screws on a vertical surface, I always leave the screws so the groove in the screw is horizontal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.