Big Sky

I know I've blipped it before but the view from our front door in the early evening light just seemed worthy of another photograph. I know it's nothing special - a fairly ordinary street in Scotland's capital city. Perhaps because the houses are small, instead of the tenements you get elsewhere in the city centre, it always seems to me that the sky is very big. Maybe not the big skies of the steppes, or the prairies, or even of the lowland fens of Eastern England. And a wider angle lens can help a bit too (although not particularly in this shot). But whatever it is, I just love the subtle shades of colour that you get. And the way the dark silhouette of the buildings, with the rows of chimney pots, provide a base for the sky. Like the valves of a trumpet. Reminds me of the scene from the film The Phantom Tolbooth when Milo meets Chroma the Great as he conducts the sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.