A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Transformers 2

After all my errands and walks around Leicester today thought I had my blip sorted in the form of a very sculptured arrangement of VW's at the local main dealer, and then I walked past this red brick beauty! So much more interesting I thought, and after yesterdays blip gives me Transformers 2!!!!! This one is a curved example and has two distinct window styles depending on which side your looking at. It is likely of a similar era to yesterday's transformer, 1930's, with this one built to supply the city's knitwear and garment manufacturing which flourished around the Friday street area. The area is now dominated by large apartment buildings, but some wonderful victorian factories and warehouses are still present in this area and some still manufacturing. The area is very close to the city centre so it's obvious place for development of flats or retail with nearby parking. Hopefully this and other buildings will survive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.