Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Old Farlow's box and home-made flies

We didn't get out much today - very cold and grey, just took the dogs for a short walk on the hill and spent most of the time working online, then let the evening pass and still no blip so at around 10 pm I hauled out my mini studio to photograph a silver fish I brought back from India some years ago.

As often happens with such ideas, I wasn't thrilled with the results, so I picked up this box that was lying around and decided it was so old and worn it might make a macro shot. So I shot it various ways and sprinkled on some trout flies for a bit of interest. These were made by Gill - no works of art but good enough to catch a fish.

The box came from London's best known fishing tackle shop, Farlow's in Pall Mall. I'm not sure how old it is but the feathers it contained were dated 1923, part of a job lot I bought at auction. I love old stuff like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.