'The Bots'

I've been threatening for some time to pay a visit to the National Botanic Gardens in Glasnevin (not far from where I live), and finally got round to it this afternoon. The weather cooperated after a rainy night, and it got almost unbearably hot inside the tropical hothouse after a short while. I took about 150 shots, but only a small handful turned out any way well. This is the Great Palm House, which (and I quote from the web site) was 'built in 1884 when the previous glasshouse was damaged in a storm. The ironwork was fabricated in Glasgow, Scotland and transported to Glasnevin. A faithful restoration by the Office of Public Works was begun in 2002. The restored house was opened in 2004. 'The Bots' is the affectionate term by which the Gardens are known to Dubliners. The Gardens themselves opened in 1800.

I still have a couple of days to back-blip, but I'm a bit up to my proverbials right now, so will have to wait a bit before filling the unsightly gap.

LATER EDIT: Back again. Back-blipping is complete and the unsightly gap for Monday and Tuesday has now been filled. Phew! Very much makeshift images, both, but it means I'm still gap-free, and still on track to maintain a perfect record at least until the big 500.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.