Plus ça change...

By SooB

Pont du Diable

This is a 14th century bridge in our local town, Ceret. In common, I suppose, with all other Ponts du Diable in France, there's a legend that goes with it: apparently the devil made a deal with the people of the town that he would build them a fine bridge if they gave him the soul of the first citizen of the town to cross it. They agreed, he built it, and they sent over a cat. He apparently wasn't fooled but history doesn't tell me what his revenge was. (Probably the traffic chaos.)

Anyway, when it was built this was, I am told, the longest single span bridge in the world. Bit of a tricky shot as it was about 11am and I was shooting into the sun (foolish I know, but I had lots of errands and not much time for driving around for a better shot). Maybe one of these days that our lovely son wakes us at 6 (which has been happening a lot) I'll actually haul myself out of bed to grab a 'golden hour' shot....

My sister arrived to visit us today with her partner so there was a frenzy of vegetable buying this morning (she's veggie). The other bit of news on the day: we have bats in our top floor (we kind of suspected from all the bat poo on the floor, but today I saw them. Will try and quietly blip them tomorrow - didn't have my low light lens handy today.) Not sure how we'll explain all the bat poo to the paying guests who arrive on Sunday....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.