Weeds!

Got a late start today. I didn't fall asleep until 4 this morning--I'm having more and more trouble every night. There is something walking around out there in the guinea grass in the dark and I'm having a very hard time relaxing.

I built another trellis today and then went back out into my old friend, the coffee. I haven't weeded in a few days; it was nice to have a break.

That's Kevin back there behind my pile of weeds. He arrived the night before I did. He's always the last one out in the field; that man works like a dog.

The pile before you is primarily made of Mimosa pudica, a highly invasive non-native species from Central and South America, commonly known is sleeping grass or sensitive plant. The name comes from the plant's distinctive defense response: when the leaves are lightly brushed or shaken, the frond-like leaflets close in on themselves instantly. In Hawaii it's known as the hilahila plant, and is greatly feared by farmers and gardeners for its thorny branches, deep root system, and tendency to get totally out of control.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.