Aleurites moluccana

Not a spectacular picture today, but a fine subject....

The Kukui tree is the state tree of Hawaii, due to the fact that it is widespread and deeply engrained in the culture. Ancient Polynesian settlers of Hawaii introduced this plant to the islands (and many other places across the Pacific) purposefully nearly 1600 years ago, primarily to utilize the oil derived from its nuts. The oil burns very well, and was used to make candles (hence its other common name, the candlenut) and to fuel handheld torches.

The tree is one of the hardiest on the islands, coping well with drought, high winds, and steep slopes. The nuts are often used in jewelry here, and have come to symbolize a number of ideas. The other day, one of my co-farmhands picked a pod off this tree for me in a gesture of protection against the spirits that approach my tent at night.

Sleep came a little more easily last night. I don't know if it was skipping dinner or catching Mission Impossible 4 at Honokaa's historic movie theatre...but I do hope the trend continues. I've been very appreciative of everyone's supportive and encouraging comments with regards to my sleep. It is so kind of you all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.