Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

30 DAY CHALLENGE: What I wore today

It was -6 degrees this morning, so no there were no doubts what I would wear - my trusty ski mitts, pictured here clutching my current favourite possession. These mitts were a 40th birthday present from my crazy friend and former lodger and I have had them for 21 years (do the math!). They were once a rather fetching shade of green, but faded and shabby as they are now, I love them still. They have cross country skied at Aviemore and on Grouse Mountain. They have bagged some of the easier Munros, got me through two Saskatchewan winters and are on regular duty taking out the garbage. We have only been separated once when I left them behind in Saskatchewan one Christmas and retrieved them the next - I suspect they were pig farming in the interim. They are the warmest hand covering I have ever possessed and I think they might just see me out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.