It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Precision Matters.

Not that my Ph.D. supervisor would believe it, but I'm such a stickler for precision in things that I think justify it.

Take milk for instance... it's made up by sugars (lactose mainly), fat and protein. By adding steam, temperature changes as does its biochemical balance. The increased temperature of the milk increases the solubility of the lactose and it tastes sweeter, albeit between 60 C and 70 C. If temperature is too high, you burn your tongue and don't get the sweetness. Precision matters!

Similarly, I was reading a report at work this afternoon but wasn't quite sure on the inferences drawn using the numbers at "face value".......I dropped the numbers into my stats package and reached a slightly different conclusion. Precision matters!

Ha....even if my colleagues think I'm slightly weird for doing such things.

It was a cold cycle in this morning, especially as the zip on my nice warm overshoes broke beyond repair. Then, I only had pre-ground coffee to warm me up.....yook.....the bitterness on my tongue....Still, it's better than the sloppily made coffee from the canteen. Precision matters!

I was three minutes late at my desk this morning. Precision isn't all that important!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.