It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Avoid the Water

I really feel tired tonight. In fact wholly depleted of energy. I was on an earlier train than for a work day as I was going to swimming. I had a massage with Andy from the tri club and he suggested meeting him at the pool after he had finished training. I had kinda considered doing the Salford Quays swim but as it was likely to be almost freezing I would have lasted 5 mins max! Rather, an indoor pool was more appealing.

The session was hard. After a warm up we did a brill game, swimming down the lane with a wee ball (an open water sighting drill) for a length with everyone in the lane following. Then I had to swim flat out until I had caught the final person in line who had previously been behind me. It was as hard as a race. That was filled by another 60mins of swimming.

Then I did something that I would not ever do in a million years and went for a coffee with andy, nina and a few others in McDonalds. Sometimes it's better just to go with the flow and not act cockish.... I can't always have single estate coffee beans..... Even the Dalai Llama would have a pork chop if offered in kindness, even though it wouldn't be his choice of meal.

It was good chatting with Nina. She was very successful in triathlon at a young age and had even done a World Cup race at 15 years old. She didn't continue as she developed an eating disorder but has now come back to the sport to coach. She's damn good at it for one so young...I sense that she coaches for the benefit of others, a quality that is less common than one would expect.

My massage with Andy was brilliant. I've had a calf injury for the last 10 days and I'm now pain free but suspected that the muscle fibres were damaged and needed a helping hand to realign. Yow...... It was
was badly knotted and getting it untangled was very uncomfortable. I had another bad knobbly lump in my thigh which took a pummelling to free up.

I have been exhausted for the rest of the day. I slept for ages in the afternoon and feel now as if I've done a very hard race. I know I'll feel great tomorrow though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.