The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Funny Guy

I love this canister, which my mom brought back from Denmark many years ago. It was designed by Bjorn Wiinblad, who was a celebrated Danish painter and designer.

The story behind this canister is one of family history. When I was very young, my oldest sister moved to Denmark and decided to stay there, get married, raise a daughter there, and now has 2 grandchildren that she adores. Her daughter was born when I was a Senior in High School.

My mom went to spend some time with her and brought this adorable canister home with her, filled with Sea Salt. I think that we were the very first U.S. family to embrace the use of this condiment into out daily diets.

For years, this canister housed salt. Then, it housed matches. One day, it vanished.

Years later, as I cleaned out my sister's house after her death, I ran across it again. Strangely, it smelled of tobacco. Now, two years later, it smells of nothing.

I have no matches to store in it, and my sea salt resides in a grinder. I'm not sure what my pretty canister will hold, but for now, it will serve as a memory of my childhood, and the days that my mother spent with her beautiful baby grandchild in Copenhagen.

All in a days work, for a lovechild.

Peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.