The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

My Peanut

She's small, but mighty, and she is my little peanut. 18 years of laughter and joy, my youngest child is starring in her last High School musical, and about to enter the "Big World."

It's not enough that her sister is a promising singer/songwriter, just starting to carve a niche for herself amongst the throngs of recording artists. No, my little one must show that she has what it takes to make it on the neon lights of Broadway.

This is a photo of the ad that her father made for the playbill of her High school "Swan Song", Grease. I have to admit, it makes me weepy. My little girl is all grown up. She's 18, drives, and is going to go to college at the end of August.

I will never forget the day I took this photo of her out on our deck in Illinois. She was so full of love and joy, and not about to be upstaged by anyone - including her very talented big sister.

Last night was difficult. One daughter opening in her first pro gig, and the other, opening for her last amateur performance. Me...I stayed at home, praying that both would excel, and knowing that letting them both forge their own futures was for the best.

I love them both, and know how difficult it must have been for my mom...mother of 5. She was a saint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.