A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Fred and Me

This is Fred. We had a discussion today. I was yet again complaining about the stress of my situation, the in-between nature of the PhD graduate in search of a job and a backup career at the same time, and then, just like that, I stopped. Fred didn't say a thing (seriously, I'm not crazy, he IS made of wood, so I don't expect him to pull a Pinocchio and suddenly exist. But hey, why not, a tall, handsome, brilliant man, that could take care of part of my quest for plan B(aby), wouldn't it?!) But I was suddenly bored with myself. I've been so worried, that I forgot to actually enjoy the fact that I'm in New York, doing a job I LOVE, and being paid to do so. So my fear, anxieties, neurosis, and I came to an understanding: They will shut the fuck up kindly leave me alone, and I'll focus on what's in front of me. A pile of books, a wonderful city, an incredible freedom, and the distinct possibility that things will go just perfectly and I will not need the plan Bs.

How's that for a Thursday?

New York is full of sounds and smells: yes, the annoying ones. But also a few more interesting, including these 2:
- wafts of christmas trees in Washington Square Park since they used the trees as compost
- the sound of police horses down on 34th street going back to their stables along the Hudson.

alternate picture of the day: http://www.blipfolio.com/Awriterslife/new-york#it--s-about-time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.