Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

A cunning plan for shooting ducks

Today, in the way of Baldrick, I had a cunning plan. It was cold and sunny again and Gill was away to the supermarket. There was the interminable writing and correcting to do but I thought, what the heck, I'll go with her and try out an idea. I wanted to photograph birds in flight against the sun, get some translucent wing against a bit of bokeh, perhaps - nothing difficult then.

Goldsworth Park Lake is nobbut a stone's throw from the supermarket so we thought we'd walk the dogs there first. I put on t'big lens as the plan came together. The cunning bit was the bag of bread crumbs I'd brought along in my pocket. I thought that instead of chasing after birds I'd bring them to me. The type of bird didn't matter so much but a gull would be good as I wanted to photograph the light through the wings.

Before reaching the bit of the lake directly opposite the sun, however, I was distracted by some ducks and pulled them in with a bit of bread. The three here were part of that crowd. Oh and before that I snapped a cheeky looking Dunnock which Gill thought was a better blip. She might be right.

A little further on I was looking down at the margins and saw a Great Crested Grebe just about to sit on her clutch of eggs. I didn't want to disturb her but crept closer and got a shot or two through the thicket. It seems a bit of an early clutch in this weather. I hope some of them make it.

Now at the far end of the lake I went ahead with the plan. Sadly, it was not without its flaws. The bread worked rather too well as the birds were so close I could barely track them with the long lens. It was like that Alfred Hitchcock film, The Birds. Never mind shooting them, I could have batted them out of the sky with the lens.

Two shots were not bad and one of them would have been just the ticket if I hadn't cut the top off one of the gulls. Then there was the sparkly goose head. I really liked that in the well that's something a bit different category. But in the end I went for the three ducks here because I liked them.

Had I had more time (and more bread) I would have tried some different lenses but there was shopping and, oh yes, work to do.

The dunncok, the grebe, the gulls and the sparkly goose head are all here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.