Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

More ducks

This blipping is certainly getting me out more. I've lived nearly half my life in Woking and I'm still discovering parts that are new to me. This morning I walked the dogs along the River Wey past Newark Priory in Pyrford. Part of the river was frozen but in the time I was out - less than two hours- the temperature had risen nearly ten degrees from -7 deg C first thing.

We walked past a couple of locks, including Walsham Gates, the last turf-sided lock on the River Wey Navigation. The priory is on private land but you can see it just fine from the riverside: a must Blip for the future.

I had a few nice images today, including this one of the lock-keeper's house but again I went for ducks. I loved this Tufted Duck and this pretty female mallard but blipped on a group of Mallards again because I'm a sucker for those green shiny heads. The forecasters say snow is on the way this evening. I'm looking forward to the pending blipping snowfest. It's times like this that I'm glad we have a jeep.

I called at the pet shop on the way back to get some bird seed for the feeder. I'd put out some water for them this morning. I cooked a turkey curry for Monday (always better to leave it a day or two), stew and dumplings tonight with casoulette tomorrow. You need something warming in this weather. Now I'm planning to settle down for the Scotland v England rugby match to see whether they send us home again.....to think again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.