Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Sticks by the river Wey

Well it snowed last night here in Woking, but it was soft southern snow, not the kind that looks great on pictures. I'd hoped there might be a freeze with crisp sunshine this morning. Instead it was dank as the snow began to turn slushy. I took Gill to show her my new walk and the contrast with yesterday couldn't have been greater.

The reeds looked rubbish, you could hardly see the ducks and while I did get a quick shot off at these cormorants on a dead tree before they flew away, it wasn't a great walk for wildlife. Still we found how bits of other walks we've done joined up so I think I've got this bit of the Wey Navigation sussed.

We also passed a canal-side house where John Donne, the poet lived for a while, except they didn't begin to dig the canal until 1635, four years after his death.

I liked these sticks, part of the old bank side I assume, so here they are blipped.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.