Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

RAC club bar

Like the spokes of a wheel, the Art Deco RAC Club bar in its dining room recalls the great age of speed when motorists made the most of the open roads.

It's a pity I couldn't get the barman but he wasn't manning his bar by the time I asked if it was OK to take the picture. Pall Mall clubs are notoriously stuffy with all kinds of rules but the staff here were brilliant and very happy for me to take the snap.

I already had a blip in the bank, a photograph of a Redwing eating berries off the cotoneaster hedge opposite our house. The Redwings only turn up when there's snow on the ground but when there is a cold snap they can almost be guaranteed to make an appearance in the hedge. I liked the picture, but just wished the bird had been a little closer. Maybe another day.

I had another candidate later, an early evening shot of the British Library taken with the camera propped on a waste bin. I was there to present one of the awards in the Chartered Management Institute's book of the year award, so an opportunity to pontificate a bit, but not to blip.

On the way back I almost sat on a grey cat on the underground train - thought it was a hat at first. It was all curled up and cosy but it didn't have a ticket and I did so it was happy (or its owner was) to vacate the seat.

I guess I could have blipped the cat too. No shortage of opportunities today. I just wish I'd known the King's Troop were going to be out in Hyde Park earlier to give a 41 gun salute to the Queen. That would have been a nice blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.