They don't cook bricks here now!

There was something about this scene that reminded me of a Chinese worker carrying his bamboo poles. I was out taking photographs on Devonshire Green in Sheffield while I waited for my turn at the opticians. The light was brilliant and it lit up the bricks in a warm orange glow. (It looks good as b & w but as I've enjoyed the colours so much today I've kept it in colour.)

This building was the headquarters of the Wharncliffe Fire-clay Works and is decorated with some amazingly beautiful patterned tiles. The last time I photographed this building was on a particularly dull day.

I've eventually got around to buying myself a present with my lump sum that came with my retirement from the GA - I thought I'd better spend it before our house project eats up all of our money! I see it as a one off and not to be repeated any time soon!

p.s. I've just made another attempt to straighten this photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.